Governing Board

Chair of Governors - Mrs Ann Purcell

Vice  Chair - Mrs Rebecca Garton

Local Authority Governor -  Mr Kuljeet Dobe

Parent Governor - Vacancy

Parent Governor - Mr Mark Harvey

Co-opted Governor - Miss Katherine Cooper

Co-opted Governor -Mr  Mike Chirnside

Co-opted Governor - Mrs Monica Clifford

Co-opted Governor - Mrs Aiysha Malik

Staff Governors -  Mr Dean Morse, Mrs Frances Saunders, Miss Denise Page

Clerk to the Governors - Mrs Elizabeth Greer

 The purpose of having a Governing Board is to

  • help the school to set high standards by planning for the school's future and setting targets for school improvement
  • keep the pressure up on school improvement
  • be a critical friend to the school, offering support and advice
  • help the school respond to the needs of parents and the community
  • make the school accountable to the public for what it does
  • work with the school on planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review
    exercise its responsibilities and powers in partnership with the head-teachers and staff
  • not intervene in the day-to-day management of the school unless there are weaknesses in the school, when it then has a duty to take action. 
All maintained schools have a duty to publish certain information online.  Please find below details about:
  • The Governing Board Structure
  • Terms of office
  • Committees
  • Register of interests  

Please click to read the Governing Board Winter Newsletter 2018

Please click to read the Governing Board Annual Statement 2016-2017

Please click to read the Governing Board Annual Statement 2015-2016
 Nov 2017   

Governor  Type

Term End   Interests
Ann Purcell Parent Apr 2019 None
Rebecca Garton Parent Dec 2019

Vice Chair of Governors Bishop Ramsey CE School

Teacher at different school

Vacancy Parent


Mark Harvey Parent Dec 2020


Katherine Cooper Co-opted Jan 2021

 Teacher at different school

Monica Clifford Co-opted Apr 2021


Michael Chirnside   Co-opted Jun 2021




Kuljeet Dobe Local Authority Oct 2019


Frances Saunders Head Teacher N/a


Dean Morse Head Teacher N/a


Denise page Staff  Sep 2020


Resignations (last 12 months)


Samantha Watts Staff

Feb 2015

Sep 2017


Joe Feeley Co-opted

 Apr 2017

Jun 2017


Emma Croft Parent

 Jan 2018



The committees serving the Governing Board are as follows:

Teaching, Learning & Achievement:

  • Rebecca Garton (Chair)
  • Monica Clifford
  • Katherine Cooper
  • Mark Harvey
  • Denise Page
  • Frances Saunders
  • Dean Morse


  • Ann Purcell (Chair)
  • Kuljeet Dobe
  • Mike Chirnside
  • Frances Saunders
  • Dean Morse

Children, Families & Community:

  • Monica Clifford (Chair)
  • Katherine Cooper
  • Mark Harvey
  • Mike Chirnside
  • Frances Saunders
  • Dean Morse

Supporting the committees, governors also have the following areas of special interest:

  • Ann Purcell:  Training, governor development, EYFS and SMSC
  • Rebecca Garton:  Pupil Premium, SEN 
  • Vacancy:  Numeracy
  • Mike Chirnside: Science
  • Mark Harvey:  Sports and PE premium
  • Katherine Cooper:  Safeguarding
  • Monica Clifford:  Literacy